Rush Announce Protected Players List

The Rapid City Rush, proud ECHL affiliate of the NHL’s Arizona Coyotes, announced, in conjunction with the ECHL, the team’s Protected List to conclude the 2019-20 season.


Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:


1. Signed an SPC in 2019-20 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed an SPC in 2019-20, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2019-20 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.


The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 12 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15. Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2019-20.


The Rush protected list of 27 players is as follows:


Stephane Legault
Cedric Montminy
Peter Quenneville
Brennan Saulnier
Tyler Coulter
Bo Brauer
Matt Ustaski
Darian Romanko
Tanner Karty
Dante Salituro
Chris Leibinger
Dexter Dancs
Chris Izmirlian
Justin Faryna
Jack Riley
Mason McCarty


Mark Auk
Brandon Fehd
Josh Elmes
Brett Beauvais
Joe Rutkowski
Eric Israel
Kyle Froese
Zach Phillips
Dylan Quaile


Tyler Parks
Gordon Defiel


The 2020-21 home schedule is out! Check out our 36 home dates for the upcoming season HERE.